Spring Break

Day 1 of spring break: We traveled to Utah and stayed with family in the Salt Lake Area. On our way there we stopped at Antelope Island because we had never seen it before although we’ve been to Utah hundreds of times. I had in mind pictures on the lakeshore beaches there like I often see on social media. However, upon learning that there was a historical site to see, that was where my husband wanted to go. We didn’t have long to spend, so that was the one place we visited. It’s the site of the original ranch there. Next time I’ll be sure to get there at sunset and get those pictures on the beach and make it totally what’s in my mind.

Jace was swatting at bugs in the light and I just loved all the colors I was seeing, especially the yellow wheelbarrow. And funny enough, we saw a yellow wheelbarrow at a garage sale last week, although a lot more rusty, and I though of this image and I bought it! Now to paint my house white and lean it up against it.

DSC_8310Mark is a dairyman at heart. His dad and grandpa were dairymen, and he lived on the dairy until he was 8 years old when his dad changed careers and they moved. He loved talking to the kids about the workings of farm life. Plus he has a degree in History education, so of course the history of the land and ranch appealed to him too.DSC_8277

We had plans to meet up with my cousin at the Museum of Natural Curiosity in Lehi, Utah. So we hurried to meet her there and it was pretty amazing, there were some really awesome interactive exhibits for the kids.

DSC_8335

Dad sent Jacen and Kyler a message on the billboard. The kids created a play for us in the theater room that I got on video.

DSC_8414That’s Jace up there in the airplane. The kids played the longest in the water section where they could learn about pressure and irrigation.

DSC_8468DSC_8422Day 2, we drove down to Moab, Utah and spent a few hours in Arches National Park. It was fun taking the kids at an age where they could hike and play. We took the trail to Delicate Arch and it was fabulous. I love climbing and hiking on smooth red rock. I spent a lot of my childhood hiking around here when we would go to visit my grandparents, aunts, uncles and lots of cousins. My dad grew up farming in Monticello, Utah just an hour south of Moab.

DSC_8523DSC_8519DSC_8548DSC_8551DSC_8568-Pano-2

DSC_8565DSC_8584DSC_8589DSC_8590DSC_8594DSC_8596Little Boy BlueDSC_8606Successful sunflare ring I’ve been trying for with my 24mm Sigma Art, taken out the window of the passenger seat.DSC_8624DSC_8633DSC_8640DSC_8647Day 3, we visited another discovery center, this one in Monticello. Kyler created this design with glow sticks.

That afternoon my parents and niece arrived in town to vacation with us. We did a late afternoon hike over Posey’s trail, a Native American trail down Comb Ridge, a 30 mile long impassable cliff, besides this trail and the road that was made by blasting part of the wall away. Posey was a Native American who escaped from local police by using this trail. It’s impossible to see until you are right there by the trail and it zig zags down the cliff in tight switchbacks and narrow paths.

The passing storm and setting sun showed us purple clouds! My dad gets so excited to take his grandkids on hikes in the stomping grounds of his youth. He loves to tell them the stories of the area’s history plus the stories of his dad, my grandfather. He was an incredible man who farmed wheat, raised cattle, hiked Southern Utah his whole life and knew the area in depth. He and his brother were local legends for their experience and knowledge. Their first home was a cabin out on the farm. To think of the changes he saw in technology in his lifetime is astounding! They were still using horse and plow back then and he went from that to using huge John Deer combines.

If you can’t tell, I like to stop and document the details.

I made this panorama with four pictures. The view was incredible!

DSC_8746-Pano

Mark and I held the boy’s hands most of the way. It was a pretty steep drop off the edge.

We hiked this trail six years ago. Kyler was a little nervous this time.

We met my mom and aunt at the bottom, they had driven the cars around to meet us. Looking back up the ridge it’s hard to image being able to come down that!

Day 4, we visited my uncle’s farm where the kids got to ride in the tractor, press pennies and get hoisted up the lift on chains.

That afternoon we visited the Hole in the Rock Visitor’s Center in Bluff, Utah, where the pioneers that crossed the Hole in the Rock ended their journey. They started in St. George, Utah and came over the Lake Powell area. If  you’ve ever been to Lake Powell, just try to image coming over all those red rocks and cliffs in a wagon. They found a narrow crack in a canyon wall to lower the wagons down through. I’m proud to say that one of the leaders of this expedition was my great great great grandfather, Lemuel Hardison Redd Sr. A one room cabin for each family in the company was constructed in replication of their first settlement. The cabins were built with volunteer labor from the descendants of each family, and were furnished by the families too. Here’s the cabin of my ancestor. I felt a profound connection to my heritage while on this trip. I am proud of my roots and love this land and it’s history.

Details from a couple of the other cabins.

Day 5. Our last day ended with a big family breakfast in my Aunt’s cozy kitchen with all the family that could come. As much as I love her place, I really missed being able to walk to Grandma’s house around the corner. I miss the smells there, the cactus garden on the porch, the welcome hug and the food she made. You never know how much those little things are a part of you until they are gone. Trying to explain it to the children seemed surreal, as if it was a dream.
DSC_8958We returned to Arches on the way out of town since our pass lasted for five days.

DSC_8981

Me and the kids, we’re so small!

DSC_8994There’s me! The hubby took these pictures.DSC_8987   DSC_8990

DSC_9026DSC_9027DSC_9055

DSC_9108

DSC_9139

DSC_9141DSC_9151

Thanks for seeing this post through to the end! It was a long one!

Leave a Reply

